Public Document Pack



Joanne Roney OBE Chief Executive Telephone: 0161 234 3006 j.roney@manchester.gov.uk PO Box 532, Town Hall Extension, Manchester M60 2LA

Tuesday, 20 November 2018

Dear Councillor / Honorary Alderman,

Special Meeting of the Council - Wednesday, 28th November, 2018

You are summoned to attend a Special Meeting of the Council which will be held at 10.00am on Wednesday, 28th November, 2018, in the Council Chamber, Level 2, Town Hall Extension, for the purpose of considering the following Motion to be moved by the Lord Mayor, that Mr Andrew Fender and Mrs Nilofar Siddiqi be admitted as Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester in recognition of their distinctive and eminent service which they have rendered to the City in the office of Councillor.

Motion to be moved by The Right Worshipful the Lord Mayor (Councillor June Hitchen) Seconded by the Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor Abid Chohan)

That this Council hereby records its view that the powers entrusted to it by law of recognising persons who have rendered eminent service to the Council as a former member, would be fittingly exercised by admitting to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of the City:

Andrew Fender Nilofar Siddiqi

who both rendered meritorious service to the City as a Councillor for over 32 and 33 years respectively.

Andrew was first elected as a Councillor for the Old Moat Ward of the City in 1986. During his membership of the Council he has served on numerous committees, including serving as Chair of the Planning Committee from 1988 to 1990, Chair of Environmental Planning from 1996 to 1999 and Chair of Development Control and Traffic Regulation Committee from 1999 to 2000. In addition, he also served on the Education and Finance Committee, the Passenger Transport Authority and Mersey Valley Joint Committee. Andrew was also the Council's representative on Transport for Greater Manchester Committee for many years.

Nilofar was first elected as a Councillor for the Harpurhey Ward of the City in 1982 and then for Gorton North Ward in May 2006. During her membership of the Council she has served on numerous committees of the Council, including Highways, Leisure Services, Recreation, Cultural, Equal Opportunities, Neighbourhoods Services, Policy and Resources, Housing, Art Galleries and Health Scrutiny.

Andrew and Nilofar's intellect, ability, integrity, affability and enthusiasm for public service have earned them both the highest regard and respect of everyone who knows them, and in the opinion of the members of this Council, Andrew Fender and Nilofar Siddiqi are distinguished former colleagues for whom it is fitting to admit to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen.

The Council accordingly resolves that pursuant to the powers contained in Section 249 of the Local Government Act, 1972, Andrew Fender and Nilofar Siddiqi are hereby admitted to be Honorary Aldermen of the City.

Yours faithfully,

Joanne Roney OBE Chief Executive

Information about the Council

The Council is composed of 96 councillors with one third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to residents of their ward. Their overriding duty is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

Six individuals with previous long service as councillors of the city have been appointed Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester and are entitled to attend every Council meeting. They do not however have a vote.

All councillors meet together as the Council under the chairship of the Lord Mayor of Manchester. There are seven meetings of the Council in each municipal year and they are open to the public. Here councillors decide the Council's overall strategic policies and set the budget each year.

Agenda, reports and minutes of all Council meetings can be found on the Council's website www.manchester.gov.uk

Members of the Council

Councillors:-

Hitchen (Chair), Akbar, Ahmed Ali, Azra Ali, Nasrin Ali, Sameem Ali, Shaukat Ali, Alijah, Andrews, Appleby, Barrett, Battle, Bridges, Chohan (Deputy Chair), Clay, Collins, Connolly, Cooley, Craig, Curley, M Dar, Dar, Davies, Douglas, Ellison, Evans, Farrell, Flanagan, Fletcher-Hackwood, Green, Grimshaw, Hacking, Harland, Hassan, Hewitson, Holt, J Hughes, Igbon, Ilyas, Jeavons, Johns, S Judge, T Judge, Kamal, Karney, Kilpatrick, Kirkpatrick, Lanchbury, Leech, Leese, J Lovecy, Ludford, S Lynch, J C Lyons, McHale, Midgley, Madeleine Monaghan, Mary Monaghan, R Moore, N Murphy, S Murphy, Newman, Noor, O'Neil, Ollerhead, C Paul, B Priest, H Priest, Rahman, Raikes, Rawlins, Rawson, Razaq, Reeves, J Reid, Riasat, Richards, Rowles, Russell, Sadler, M Sharif Mahamed, Sheikh, Shilton-Godwin, A Simcock, K Simcock, Smitheman, Stogia, Stone, Strong, Taylor, Watson, S Wheeler, White, C Wills, J Wilson and Wright

Honorary Aldermen of the City of Manchester –

Gordon Conquest, William Egerton JP, Audrey Jones JP, Paul Murphy OBE, John Smith and Keith Whitmore.

Further Information

For help, advice and information about this meeting please contact the Committee Officer:

Donald Connolly Tel: 0161 234 3034

Email: d.connolly@manchetser.gov.uk

This agenda was issued on **Tuesday, 20 November 2018** by the Governance and Scrutiny Support Unit, Manchester City Council, Level 3, Town Hall Extension (Mount Street Elevation), Manchester M60 2LA

